Swimmy by Leo Lionni

During my internship I came across  Swimmy by Leo Lionni in the classroom and I thought it was a really good book. I decided to do a search on it and found that someone had made a video of themselves reading the book (the same video that’s posted above. I read the book and then a few days later used the youtube version of the story to refresh the children’s minds. The children abolutely loved it! I also found some other books by Leo Lionni that have been read on youtube. Some of the other videos include A Color of His Own, Frederick and Inch by Inch.

In the classroom today teachers are starting to use The Daily 5 which incorporates listening to reading in the classroom. In the classroom that I interned in, my co-operating teacher had two cassette players for the children to listen to reading. For the longest time I wondered what I could use for the listening to reading center because I don’t have the Cd’s, cassette’s, books or the technology to go with them. After finding that there are a few videos already up I’ve been thinking that it’d be cool to have a listening to reading center that children can use on the internet. I’ve been thinking that I could set up my own wiki or site that lists all of the different books already on youtube. If there isn’t a certain book that I want them to listen to I could record myself reading the books and put them up!

About ashleymcdougall

I'm a candidate teacher finishing my last year of studies at the University of Regina. I'm focusing my studies on Early Childhood Education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swimmy by Leo Lionni

  1. rlukan says:

    Check out the Screen Actors Guild’s “Storyline” for more narrated books. They have a great reading of “The Polar Express” (which I used in my grade 7 classroom at Christmas time). It can be found at http://www.storylineonline.net

  2. Thank you for the website! I think it will be very useful!

Leave a Reply

